As part of the recent diocesan changes announced by Bishop Fintan, three permanent deacons will take up new appointments in different Families of Parishes.

While they are appointed to a Families of Parishes, they will be anchored in one or two parishes within the Family of Parishes and work with a link priest there.

Recently Bishop Fintan met with Deacon John Guiry, Deacon David Lane and Deacon Frank McKevitt along with Fr. Bernard Cotter Co-PP, Coordinator of the Permanent Diaconate in the Diocese of Cork and Ross as the deacons take up their new appointments in early August.

Fr. Liam Ó hÍcí, Deacon Frank McKevitt, Fr. Bernard Cotter Co-PP and Fr. James McSweeney Co-PP (front row) Deacon David Lane, Bishop Fintan Gavin, Deacon John Guiry and Fr. Pat Fogarty Co-PP (at back)


Diaconal Appointments in the Diocese

Deacon John Guiry appointed Deacon in the Family of Parishes of Carrigaline, Crosshaven, The Harbour Parishes and Tracton Abbey anchored in Carrigaline Parish.

Deacon David Lane appointed Deacon in the Family of Parishes of Carraig na bhFear, Glanmire, Glounthaune and Watergrasshill anchored in the Parishes of Glanmire and Glounthaune.

Deacon Frank McKevitt appointed Deacon in Family of Parishes of Ballinora, Ballincollig and Ovens anchored in Ballincollig Parish.