Bishop Fintan announces diocesan appointments

Bishop Fintan Gavin, Bishop of Cork and Ross.

On August 4th, the feast day of St John Vianney, the Curé d’Ars, patron of parish priests, Bishop Fintan Gavin has thanked priests for their ministry in the diocese and announces some diocesan appointments.

“I wish to take this opportunity to thank each of you for your commitment, your witness and fraternal collaboration with each other and your parishioners during these difficult and challenging months,” Bishop Fintan writes in a message to priests. 

“I realise that moving to a new appointment is not easy especially during this time of uncertainty with the Covid-19 pandemic. Therefore I want to thank those who are moving or taking on additional roles for their willingness to do so at this time.”

The Bishop has appointed both Mons. Aidan O’Driscoll PP, Clonakilty, and Fr. Tom Hayes PP, Enniskeane, to serve as Vicars General of the Diocese.  As Vicars General they will work in collaboration with Bishop Fintan and the leadership structure of the Diocese to meet the pastoral needs of a changing environment. Mons. Kevin O’Callaghan who has served as Vicar General of the Diocese for many years retires from that role. 

Canon Jim O’Donovan PP retires from the office of Parish Priest of Ballinlough to become Assistant Priest in the parishes of The Lough and Ballyphehane. Canon Jim will reside in The Lough Parish. 

Canon Robert Brophy PP Upper Mayfield is to undertake a new role as Episcopal Vicar for Mission and Ministry.  In this role Canon Robert will work with the bishop, the priests and parishes to respond to the changing needs of the diocese as we enter into a period of renewal and restructuring to develop together a vision for the future of our diocese as a faith community, enabling people to become missionary disciples with co-responsibility for their parish. Canon Robert has also been appointed as Assistant Priest in Curraheen Parish and will reside there.

Fr. Bernard Cotter PP is appointed as Co-ordinator of the Permanent Diaconate in the Diocese in addition to his current appointment as parish priest of Murragh and Templemartin Parish. Bishop Fintan thanked Canon Bertie O’Mahony PP,  Ballineaspig, for all his work to establish the permanent diaconate in the diocese and for supporting those ordained to the permanent diaconate.

Fr. Sean O’Sullivan PP is appointed as Episcopal Vicar for the Pastoral Care of Priests.  As Episcopal Vicar for the Pastoral Care of Priests, Fr Sean will assist the bishop and the diocese in promoting and fostering the pastoral care and wellbeing of priests.  This is in addition to his current role as parish priest of the Harbour Parishes. 

Bishop Fintan has also made the following appointments:

Fr. Charlie Kiely, Director of Pastoral Development to be Parish Priest of Upper Mayfield

Mons. Gearóid Dullea, Executive Secretary of the Irish Episcopal Conference to be Parish Priest of Ballinlough

Fr. Chris O’Donovan CC, Skibbereen and Rath and the Islands to take sabbatical leave for one year to pursue studies in the University of Leuven, Belgium.

Fr. Evin O’Brien CC, Dunmanway to be curate in Skibbereen and Rath and the Islands

Fr. Terry O’Brien MSC to be parish priest of Kilmacabea

Fr. Kevin Blade MSC is to return to his religious congregation

Fr. Adrian Curran OFM. Cap, to be chaplain in South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital and St. Finbarr’s Hospital

Fr. Kevin Kiernan OFM. Cap, Chaplain in South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital and St. Finbarr’s Hospital to return to his order

Fr. Rafal Zielonka, CC Upper Mayfield to be curate in Dunmanway.

These appointments become effective from September 5th.