Rites Of The RCIA

The journey towards Christian Initiation has a number of stages. These stages are marked by a celebration a bit like milestones on the road. Each stage has its own special rite.

The Rites of the RCIA are celebrated at important stages in the journey of an adult to Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist at the Easter Vigil. These are the main rites for people who have not been baptised:

  • Rite of Acceptance into the Order of Catechumens
  • Celebrations of the Word of God
  • Rites of Anointing, Blessing and Exorcism
  • Rite of Sending of the Catechumens for election.
  • Rite of Election
  • Scrutinies
  • Presentations of the Creed and the Lord’s Prayer
  • Holy Saturday Preparation Rites.
  • Sacraments of Initiation

There are also rites for people who have been baptised in a Christian tradition but wish to become Catholics. These mirror the rites above.

  • Rite of Welcoming the Candidate
  • Rite of Call to Continuing Conversion
  • Penitential Rite
  • Sacrament of Reconciliation
  • Sacraments of Confirmation and Eucharist

The Rite also makes allowances for situations where both are necessary and provides combined rites. There are also additional rites for children and special circumstances.

Some examples of the main RCIA rites are given below.

PDF Resources

Rite of Acceptance of Catechumens
Lord’s Prayer and Creed
Holy Saturday Preparation
Penitential Rite
Sacrament of Reconciliation
Presentations of Creed and Lord’s Prayer