New Heritage Wall at the Mercy Hospital
On the 24th of September, the feast of Our Lady of Mercy, the new heritage wall at the Mercy University Hospital, Cork City was blessed by Bishop John Buckley, and unveiled by Sr Laurentia, Former Director of Nursing, in the presence of Sandra Daly CEO, Margaret McKiernan Director of Nursing and many present staff members. The Mercy University Hospital had very humble beginnings.
Many patients and staff, to this day, enter through the front door of the Old Mansion House. This was once the Residence of the Lord Mayor of Cork. Following this it was home to a seminary for a short time. Archdeacon John Murphy secured the lease of the building 1857 and asked the Sisters of Mercy to open a hospital there for the sick and poor of the City of Cork. The hospital opened with forty beds. Today it has approximately 350 beds.
The heritage wall recounts the many developments in the hospital over the years, and it also highlights some hidden gems of the hospital?s history. For example, the Mercy Hospital Nurses cared for British Soldiers during World War One. In 1922, in recognition of this service, the matron of the hospital, Sister Raymond O Hea Cussen was awarded the royal red cross medal.